Details about Indian Defence


The President of India is the supreme Commander of the Indian Armed Forces (Army, Navy, Airforce).

The Ministry of Defence comprises of departments, which are as follows :

  1. Department of Defence
  2. Department of Defence production
  3. Department of Defence Research and Development (DRDO)
  4. Department of Defence Ex-Service man welfare


Commissioned Ranks of 3 forces :

General Admiral Air-Chief Marshal
Lieutenant General Vice-Admiral Air Marshal
Major General Rear Admiral Air Vice-Marshal
Brigadier Commodore Air Commodore
Colonel Captain Group Captain
Lieutenant Colonel Commander Wing Commander
Major Lieutenant Commander Squadron Leader
Captain Lieutenant Flight Lieutenant
Lieutenant Sub- Lieutenant Flying Officer


General Bipin Rawat is a 4 Star General and Chief of Defence Staff of India.

Indian Army

Head Quarters New Delhi
Motto Service Before Self
Battle Cry Bharat Mata ki Jai
Army Day 15 Jan
Colors Gold, Red & Black
Active Personnel 12,37,117
Reserve Personnel 9,60,000
First Army Chief Robert Mc Gregor Lockhart (1947)


Indian Navy

Head Quarters New Delhi
Motto Sham no varunah
Navy Day 4 Dec
Active Personnel 67,228
Reserve Personnel 55,000
First Navy Chief Katari (1958)


Indian Airforce

Head Quarters New Delhi
Motto Nabha Sparsham Deeptam
Colors Navy blue, Sky blue and white
Active Personnel 1,39,576
Reserve Personnel 1,40,000
First Airforce Chief Subroto Mukerjee


Territorial Army

It’s a citizens voluntary force, which functions on a part time basis and gives an opportunity to receive military training during their spare time.



Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP):

It was established in 1962, after the Chinese attack. It protects India-China Border.

National Security Guards (NSG):

Mandate to fight in anti-terrorist operation and in security of VVIPs.

Central Industrial Security Force (CISF):

It was set-up in 1969, its work is to secure industrial complex of government.

Assam Rifles :

It was established in 1835 and is the oldest paramilitary force in the country. It patrols India-Myanmar border and insurgency in North-East.

Border Security Force (BSF):

It was established in 1965. It patrol Pakistan and Bangladesh.

National Cadet Corps (NCC):

It was established in 1948. Its main objective is to stimulate interest among the youth in the defence of the country in order to build up a reserve manpower to expand armed forces.

Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF):

It was set-up in 1939. Its main objective is to assist the State/Union Territory Police in maintenance of law and order. The 88th Battalion of CRPF, known as ‘Mahila Battalion’ (commissioned on 30th March, 1986) is the world’s first paramilitary force comprising entirely of women.

Home Guard

It was established in 1946, to assist the police in maintaining security, to help defence forces and to help local authorities.

Coast Guard

It was set-up in 1978. Its objective is to protect the maritime and other national interests in the maritime zones of India.

Intelligence Bureau (IB):

It was set-up in 1920. Its objective is to collect secret information relating to country’s security. It was originally set-up as Central Special Branch (CSB) in 1887 and renamed IB in 1920.

Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI):

It was established in 1953. Its objective is to investigate cases of misconduct by public servants, cases of cheating, embezzlement, fraud also work on International crime cases in collaboration with INTERPOL.

National Crime Records Bureau (NCRB):

It was established in 1986. Its objective is to collect crime statistics at the national level.

Rapid Action Force (RAF):

It was established in 1991, wing of CRPF. It deals with riot, crowd control, relief operation.


Preyanshu Bisht

Founder and Author of Times of Reality. Undergraduate student at IP University with Computer Science as major.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *